Whatsapp, the popular worldwide instant messaging app, has introduced new features as part of security measures to make the app safer and easier to use.
With over two billion downloads, the green app is one of the most popular social media platforms for both personal and business use.
“We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations,” said Meta founder Mark Zuckerberg.
The latest update includes new privacy features such as the ability to exit group chats without notifying everyone; the ability to choose who can see when you’re online for the number of contacts you want; and the ability to prevent screenshots from pictures and videos when they are only displayed once.
According to Meta, the new features give users more privacy, protection, and control.
“We believe that messaging and calling should be as private and secure as face-to-face communication.” As if two people were talking and no one else was present. ” WhatsApp protects users’ personal calls and messages with end-to-end encryption by default, so no one but the intended recipient can hear or see them. “However, that is only one important aspect of protecting your privacy,” a statement on the Whatsapp blog reads in part.
“Over the years, we’ve added new layers of privacy protections to give you multiple ways to secure your messages, including self-destructing disappearing messages and end-to-end encrypted backups when you want to save your chat.”
“Today, we’re excited to introduce several new privacy features that add additional layers of protection and give you more control over your messages.” “This is all part of how we work to keep your WhatsApp conversations secure,” it added.
Leave Groups Quietly: “We enjoy our group chats, but some are not permanent. We’re making it possible to leave a group privately without upsetting everyone. Instead of notifying the entire group when you leave, only the administrators will be notified. This feature will be available to all users starting this month.”
Select Who Can See You When You’re Online:
“Seeing when friends or family are online helps us feel connected, but we’ve all had times when we wanted to check our WhatsApp privately.” We’re introducing the ability to choose who can and cannot see your online presence when you’re online for those times when you want to keep your online presence private. This will be available to all users later this month.”
Screenshot Blocking For Messages That Can Only Be Viewed Once:
“View Once is already a hugely popular way to share photos or media that don’t require a permanent digital record.” For an added layer of security, we’ve enabled screenshot blocking for View Once messages. We’re currently testing this feature and hope to make it available to users soon.”