INEC Reveals Elections Will Not Hold In 240 Polling Units (Full List)

Watch Moment Mahmood Yakubu Said Election Results Would Be Uploaded To INEC Portal In Real Time
INEC Boss Mahmood Yakubu

Ahead of the forthcoming general elections, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has disclosed that no election will be held in 240 polling units across the country.

The INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu revealed this on Monday at an ongoing meeting with leaders of the 18 political parties at the commission’s headquarters in Abuja.

Yakubu said no new registrants chose the polling units and that no voters indicated an interest in transferring to them during the last continuous voter registration (CVR) exercise, mainly for security reasons.

“There are 240 polling units without registered voters spread across 28 States and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). They range from one polling unit to 12 polling units in each State and the FCT, except Taraba and Imo States with 34 and 38 polling units respectively.

“No new registrants chose the polling units and no voters indicated interest to transfer to them during the last Continuous Voter Registration (CVR), mainly for security reasons. This means that no elections will hold in these polling units.”

“You may recall that in 2021, with your support and that of other critical stakeholders, the Commission successfully expanded voter access to polling units 25 years after the last delimitation exercise in 1996. Consequently, the number of polling units increased from 119,973 to the current figure of 176,846,” Mr Yakubu said.