2023 James Dyson Award global winners announced – Hong Kong students winning sustainability prize for the first time with sustainable exterior wall coating

· Hong Kong’s first global winners clinch sustainability prize for their invention of E-COATING, a sustainable exterior wall coating embracing circular economy with a high cooling effect, reducing the environmental costs of air conditioning

· Poland’s Piotr Tłuszcz wins a special humanitarian prize for The Life Chariot, an off-road trailer ambulance for universal towing, that has been used by medics in Ukraine

· Korea’s first global winners secure prize for The Golden Capsule, a hands-free (intravenous) IV device for use in disaster zones

HONG KONG SAR – Media OutReach – 15 November 2023 – The James Dyson Award, the international design award, today announces its three global winners: an International winner, a Sustainability winner, and a Humanitarian winner. For the first time for Hong Kong – two students from the Chinese University of Hong Kong – Hoi Fung Ronaldo Chan and Can Xiao, have been awarded the Sustainability award with their eco-friendly solution utilising waste glass and turning it into coating with a high cooling effect for buildings. The winners are selected by Sir James Dyson, each will receive £30,000 to support the next stages of their inventions.

The James Dyson Award forms part of a wider commitment by Sir James Dyson to demonstrate the power of engineers to change the world. The competition has supported over 300 inventions with prize money and is run by an engineering education charity funded by Dyson profits.

The and the Foundation’s work encourage aspiring engineers and problem solvers to apply their knowledge and discover new ways to improve lives through technology. To date, James and the James Dyson Foundation have contributed over £140m to boundary-breaking concepts in education and other charitable causes.

The Foundation has a , , and .

About the competition

The brief

Design something that solves a problem. This problem may be a frustration that we all face in daily life, or a global issue. The important thing is that the solution is effective and demonstrates considered design thinking.

The process

Entries are judged first at the national level by a panel of external judges and a Dyson engineer. Each operating market awards a National winner and two National runners-up. From these winners, a panel of Dyson engineers then select an international shortlist of 20 entries. The top 20 projects are then reviewed by Sir James Dyson who selects his international winners.

The prize

  • International winners, chosen by Sir James Dyson, awarded up to £30,000.
  • Each National winner receives £5,000.