AfCFTA: Understanding the agreement

Must Read

Sanwo-Olu Commissions 264 Units of Flats in Lekki (Photos)

"We Will Build Affordable Houses For Lagosians-Sanwo-Olu" ...Project is a successful public-private collaboration- Commissioner The Lagos State Governor Mr. Babajide Olusola...

List of Guaranty Trust Bank Sort Codes & Branches (with addresses) in Nigeria

The sort code is a number that usually identifies both the bank and the branch where an account is...

2020 Brand Africa 100: These are the 10 most admired brands in Africa

AfCFTA: Understanding the agreementAfCFTA: Understanding the agreement

At the African Union (AU) Summit in Niamey, capital of Niger Republic on Sunday, President Muhamadu Buhari signed the Africa Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCTA) on behalf of Nigeria, joining 53 other countries. During the summit, AU member states launched the “operational phase” of a landmark free-trade accord creating what leaders hope will be the world’s largest free trade area.

The AfCTA agreement is an umbrella instrument for the trade negotiations between the 55 African Union (AU) member states. It is divided into two phases (Phase I and II).

AfCFTA: Understanding the agreement

Each phase requires its own instrument of ratification by AU member states. On March 21, 2018, following 10 negotiating rounds, 44 of 55 AU member states signed the agreement establishing the Phase I of AfCFTA. Notably, 54 AU states have signed the agreement (Phase I) while 27 states have ratified it. Eritrea is the only states still on the side-line. This development means that the Phase I of AfCFTA (which captures the protocol for trade in goods, services and dispute resolution) is now a binding legal instrument in those countries that have ratified the agreement.

- Advertisement -

While there are still key issues to be ironed out, such as setting common criteria to determine rules of origin for traded products as well as all Phase II issues (which are still outstanding), this agreement creates an avenue to boost infrastructural development and economic activities within the continent via increase trades, in the face of increasing protectionism in the rest of the world.



United Capital Plc Research (UCR)

- Advertisement -
AfCFTA: Understanding the agreementAfCFTA: Understanding the agreement

Subscribe to BrandSpur Ng

Subscribe for latest updates. Signup to best of brands and business news, informed analysis and opinions among others that can propel you, your business or brand to greater heights.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

AfCFTA: Understanding the agreementAfCFTA: Understanding the agreement

Latest News

Ronke Oshodi-Oke Stuns in New Photos

Following her long break off the social media scene, veteran Nollywood actress, Ibironke Ojo-Anthony, popularly known as Ronke Oshodi-Oke...

Dangote Sugar Refinery Plc appoints new Executive Director

Dangote Sugar Refinery Plc. wishes to notify the Exchange and the investing public that at the Board of Directors Meeting of the Company held...

Cocoa sourcing and processing in Africa during times of COVID-19

Africa is the largest cocoa producing region in the world. Jo Thys, VP Cocoa Africa at Barry Callebaut, explains how he and his team...

Vetter wins Axia Best Managed Companies Award

Seal of quality for outstanding corporate managementAnalysis of the areas of strategy, innovation, corporate culture and financeComprehensive three-stage application process RAVENSBURG, GERMANY - Media OutReach - May 29,...

Asia Cloud Computing Association: Covid-19 Economic Resilience and Recovery Capability Reflected in the Cloud Readiness Index 2020

SINGAPORE - Media OutReach - 29 May 2020 - In the sixth iteration of the Asia Cloud Computing Association's Cloud...
- Advertisement -
BrandsPur Weekly Cartoons
- Advertisement -AfCFTA: Understanding the agreementAfCFTA: Understanding the agreement