TikTok is experimenting with its own version of Twitter’s retweet, which allows users to amplify videos on the network by sharing them with their own followers, with the addition of a new “Repost” button.
The new Repost button is located under the “Share” menu, which is also where you can share the video with friends via messages, SMS, or social media posts. Instead of directly sharing the video with your TikTok friends, the Repost button promotes it to your TikTok pals.
Unlike a Twitter retweet, the reposted video does not appear on your TikTok profile; instead, it is sent to your friends’ For You feeds. The button is also not available everywhere on TikTok.
It only appears on videos that you come across while reading your own ‘For You’ feed on the app. In other words, it’s a method of increasing the visibility of a video that has already been algorithmically recommended and you want more people to see.
Users who have mutual friends with the person who reposted the video will only receive re-shared recommendations. That means you won’t see recommendations from larger creators unless that creator also follows you for some reason.
TikTok limits recommendations to mutuals, which reduces the risk of creators collaborating. However, it reduces the possibility of reposted content gaining a large number of new views, such as if it is re-shared by a well-known creator.