GOtv Boxing Night 27: Esepo Wins WBF Ritle, N1.5m

GOtv Boxing Night 27: Esepo Wins WBF Ritle, N1.5m
From Left: Dr. Rafiu Ladipo, President, Nigerian Boxing Board of Control (NBB of C); Mr Fuad Ogunsanya, Director, MultiChoice Nigeria; and Taiwo Agbaje, winner of the Mojisola Ogunsanya Memorial Trophy after winning N1.5 million cash prize at GOtv Boxing Night 27 on Monday

Reigning West African Boxing Union (WABU) featherweight champion, Taiwo “Esepor” Agbaje, on Monday, won the World Boxing Federation (WBF) Intercontinental featherweight title at GOtv Boxing Night 27

Agbaje defeated his Filipino opponent, Richard Taruc Pumicpic by a technical knockout in the 7th round to emerge champion. His fine displays also earned him his fourth Mojisola Ogunsanya Memorial Trophy for the best boxer along with the cash prize of N1.5 million attached to it.

The Boxing Day show held at the Tafawa Balewa Square in Lagos also featured five explosive bouts across weight categories.

National super lightweight champion, Adeyemi “Spirit” Adekanla defeated the bullish Bartholomew Abuchi by unanimous decision to retain his belt and extend his unbeaten streak to 10 bouts, while Sikiru “Omo Iya Eleja” Shogbesan ended Sodiq Oyakojo reign as the national super featherweight champion by unanimous decision.

The bantamweight duel between Opeyemi “Golden Boy” Ibrahim and Sodiq “Happy Boy” Adeleke ended in Adeleke’s favour via unanimous decision, while Michael Adesodun knocked out Idris Aloma in the fourth round of their national super featherweight bout.

In the national middleweight female match, Abosede Akinsanya gave debutant Sofiat Lateef a night to forget by ending her debut with a second round technical knockout.

The event sponsored by GOtv and refreshed by Supa Komando also saw thrilling musical performances from international Afrobeat superstars such as Ruger, 9ice, DJ Exclusive and Chinko Ekun.