#ElectionResult: Seyi Makinde Wins Oyo Governorship Election

#ElectionResult: Seyi Makinde Wins Oyo Governorship Election
Seyi Makinde Re-elected

Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared the winner of the March 18 governorship election in the state.

He was declared the winner by the state Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor, Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile Ife, Prof. Adebayo Banire at the state collation centre in Ibadan, the state capital.

Makinde defeated the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Teslim Folarin and other governorship candidates in the state.

The PDP Governorship candidate won in thirty-one local governments out of the thirty-three local governments in the state to defeat 15 other candidates.

The candidate of the APC, Folarin won the remaining two local governments in the state, and Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party (AP) came third.

In total, Makinde secured 563,617 votes while Teslim had 251,230 and Adelabu polled 38,757.