Breaking the Suspense, 2020 Tang Prize Laureates to Be Announced Soon

Must Read

FG, States, LGAs share N528.39bn FAAC allocation in Jan 2021

The Federation Account Allocation Committee (FAAC) disbursed the sum of N619.34bn to the three tiers of government in December...

How To Block Your Bank Account And SIM Card In Case Of Emergency

Losing your phone and wallet or having them stolen can be very frustrating. However, in case that happens to...

List of Access Bank Sort Codes & Branches (with addresses) in Nigeria

The sort code is a number which usually identifies both the bank and the branch where an account is...
- Advertisement -

 – 11 June 2020 – Established in Taiwan,
the Tang Prize has grown to be one of the most prominent awards in the world.
From June 18 to 21, the 2020 Tang Prize laureates will be announced in 4 press
conferences starting at 10 a.m. Taipei time (GMT+8) each day and livestreamed
on its official website: While previous laureates are mainly from America, Europe and Japan, the
diversity of the countries where the latest winners are located demonstrates
how the prize has transcended geographical, cultural, racial, language or
religious barriers. Some of them have achieved international recognition.
Others are fervid activists striving for their noble ideals. What brings them
together is the simple belief that what is virtuous is what benefits us all.
Therefore, their pursuit of this virtue, not always attracting great publicity
but always worthy of great admiration, perfectly epitomizes the theme of the
2020 Tang Prize: for a world of virtue.

The havoc wreaked by Covid-19 has woken us up to the most urgent,
existential crises mankind faces in the 21st century, all of them inextricably
linked with the prize’s 4 award categories, namely Sustainable Development,
Biopharmaceutical Science, Sinology and Rule of Law. The appearance of a new
virus has prompted us to seek sustainable ways to develop a harmonious
relationship with Mother Nature; progress made in biopharmaceutical research
indicates when we can have a vaccine to fundamentally stymie the spread of the
virus; Sinology opens the door for us to China’s rich history and literature,
where the concept of the golden mean that guides our philosophy of life is
enshrined; Rule of Law alerts us to the inadequacy of our mechanism of
international cooperation and urges us to reflect on the conflicts seen between
different political cultures and between different institutional arrangements.

- Advertisement -

Named after the Tang dynasty, China’s own golden era, the Tang Prize wants
to highlight the values the dynasty is characteristic of, a tolerant attitude
toward cultural heterogeneity fostered by incorporating the West into the East,
and it is only through the integration of mankind’s achievements in sustainable
development, biopharmaceutical science, Sinology and the rule of law can
lasting peace prevail in a community, a society, a country and benefit any
individual living on the planet. As early as 30 years ago, Dr. Samuel Ying,
founder of the Tang Prize and chairman of the Ruentex Group, has started to
invest in education and has foreseen the importance of this integration. For
this reason, he established the Tang Prize Foundation in 2012 and created these
four categories, in the hope that those who have made invaluable contributions
to the world, especially experts and scholars who dedicated their life to
finding solutions to all kinds of complicated problems, can be duly

Read Also:  SugarCRM Launches SugarPredict to Take the Guesswork Out of Sales with AI for All
Read Also:  Fujitsu Unveils Ultralight, Secured and Full-Featured LIFEBOOK U9311 Business Notebook Redefine Lightweight Business Ultraportable

Previous Tang Prize laureates come from a variety of backgrounds: in
Sustainable Development, the prize has been awarded to the godmother of
sustainable development, Gro Harlem Brundtland (Norway) in 2014, the godfather
of energy efficiency, Arthur H. Rosenfeld (US) in 2016, and eminent global
warming scientists James E. Hansen (US) and Veerabhadran Ramanathan (US) in
2018. The medal in Biopharmaceutical Science went to two authorities on cancer
immunotherapy, James P. Allison (US) and Tasuku Honjo (Japan) in 2014, three
pioneers in CRISPR gene-editing technology Emmanuelle Charpentier (France),
Jennifer A. Doudna (US), and Feng Zhang (US) in 2016, and three leading lights
in targeted cancer therapy, Tony Hunter (UK/US), Brian Druker (US) and John
Mendelsohn (US) in 2018. Inaugural Sinology laureate was Yin-shih Yu (US).
“Confucius of the West”, William Theodore de Bary (US) won the 2016 Sinology
prize, which was then accepted by doyen of Tang poetry Stephen Owen (US) and
acclaimed expert on China’s socioeconomic history Yoshinobu Shiba (Japan) in
2018. Justice Albie Sachs (South Africa) was awarded the inaugural Tang Prize
in Rule of Law. Sachs presented the award to former UN Special Representative
for International Migration, Madam Justice Louse Arbour (Canada) in 2016, and
again to world-renowned legal philosopher Joseph Raz (UK) in 2018. While their
lifelong devotion to their specialist fields won them a Tang Prize, the deep
insights they offered to the world have also enabled us to examine critical
contemporary issues from a more comprehensive point of view. Which outstanding
individual or organization will be named the 2020 Tang Prize laureates? Hold
your breath and you won’t be disappointed. 

- Advertisement -

Each Tang Prize laureates receives NT$40 million (approx. US$1.33 million)
cash prize, NT$10 million (approx. US$0.33 million) research grant, a medal
made of 99.99% pure gold and designed by the Japanese designer Fukasawa Naoto,
and a diploma. The 2020 Tang Prize week will begin on September 20.

About Tang Prize

Dr. Samuel Yin, chairman of Ruentex Group, founded the
Tang Prize in December of 2012 as an extension of the supreme value his family
placed on education. Harkening back to the golden age of the Tang Dynasty in
Chinese history, the Tang Prize seeks to be an inspiring force for people
working in all corners of the world. For more information on the Tang Prize and
its laureates, please visit

- Advertisement -

Breaking the Suspense, 2020 Tang Prize Laureates to Be Announced Soon

- Advertisement -
Breaking the Suspense, 2020 Tang Prize Laureates to Be Announced Soon - Brand SpurBreaking the Suspense, 2020 Tang Prize Laureates to Be Announced Soon - Brand Spur

Subscribe to BrandSpur Ng

Subscribe for latest updates. Signup to best of brands and business news, informed analysis and opinions among others that can propel you, your business or brand to greater heights.

- Advertisement -
Breaking the Suspense, 2020 Tang Prize Laureates to Be Announced Soon - Brand SpurBreaking the Suspense, 2020 Tang Prize Laureates to Be Announced Soon - Brand Spur

Latest News

Balyesa, Delta Beat Lagos To Become Top Investment Spots For Q1 2021 – NIPC

Nigerian Investment Promotion Commission (NIPC) reports that US$8.41 billion was tracked as investment announcements for Q1 2021, about 75%...
- Advertisement -
BrandsPur Weekly Cartoons
- Advertisement -Breaking the Suspense, 2020 Tang Prize Laureates to Be Announced Soon - Brand SpurBreaking the Suspense, 2020 Tang Prize Laureates to Be Announced Soon - Brand Spur