Banking on Clean Air to Save Lives: How the World Bank is Supporting Countries in Tackling Air Pollution Around the World

0
Sierra Leone Receives Support For Access And Effective Vaccines Deployment-Brand Spur Nigeria
World Bank Breaks Record With $157bn Support For 100 Countries In 2021

Air pollution is one of the biggest environmental threats the world faces, and the world’s leading environmental risk to human health. In 2019 alone, exposure to fine particulate matter air pollution, also known as PM2.5 was responsible for 6.4 million premature deaths and some 22 million years lived with disability. Low- and middle-income countries suffer the highest burden, with 95% of deaths occurring in these countries. Besides being a health problem, air pollution contributes to less-livable conditions in cities and hinders economic competitiveness. Poor people are more likely to live in a polluted environment and suffer the adverse impacts of air pollution.

September 7th is the UN-designated International Day of Clean Air for Blue Skies. It’s a global call for action toward a single, unifying objective: clean air for all by urging countries to work together to tackle air pollution around the world. The theme of this year’s International Day of Clean Air for Blue Skies is: ‘Healthy Air, Healthy Planet’.

To mark this important day, the World Bank is organizing an event that will take place in two distinct sessions – morning and evening – to highlight how it is supporting countries in different regions to improve air quality through lending and technical assistance.

Sessions

MORNING SESSIONS | Event link

6:00-7:00am EST | 1:00-2:00pm EAT

Read Also:  Emirates Group Announces 2018-19 results, Reports profit of US$ 237 million

Middle East and North Africa

World Bank Supported Air Quality Management Activities in the Middle East and North Africa

7:00-8:00am EST | 2:00-3:00pm EAT

Sub-Saharan Africa

World Bank Supported Air Quality Management Activities in Sub-Saharan Africa

8:00-9:00am EST | 3:00-4:00pm EAT

Europe and Central Asia

From Problem Analysis to Proactive Action – Supporting Countries in Eastern Europe and Central Asia to Establish Air Quality Management Frameworks

EVENING SESSIONS | Event link

8:00-9:00pm EST | 3:00-4:00am EAT

East Asia and Pacific

Air Quality Challenges and Successes in China, Indonesia, Mongolia and Vietnam

10:00-11:00pm EST | 5:00-6:00am EAT

South Asia

Towards Cleaner Air in South Asia – National Initiatives with Regional Coordination