ADVAN Hosts 12th Edition Of ADVAN African Awards For Marketing Excellence

From Left to Right Yusuf Murtala Marketing Director Coca-cola Nigeria/Chairman ADVAN Awards planning Committee, Osamede Uwubanmwen President ADVAN, Prof Dixon-Ogbechi Bolajoko (Professor of Marketing & Decision Sciences, Head, Department of Business Administration, University of Lagos) Chairperson Awards Jury and Kenneth Iruonagbe Publicity Director ADVAN

The ADVAN African Awards for Marketing Excellence, stands as a pinnacle of recognition within the nation’s Marketing Community, revered for its prestige and significance.

The awards dinner which is slated for Sunday, the 26th of November 2023, will hold at The Civic Centre, Ozumba Mbadiwe Avenue, Lagos.

This year, the awards will showcase an impressive array of categories. The event week promises to deliver a distinctive schedule of programs and activities.

The ADVAN AfricanAwards for Marketing Excellence are bestowed upon entities and marketing professionals who have achieved remarkable success through innovative and efficacious marketing methodologies.

The Awards, have matured over time, adapting to advancements in marketing theory and practice, thereby mirroring the growing recognition of marketing’s pivotal role as the primary driver of value generation for businesses.

Through these awards, ADVAN pledges to underscore the fundamental importance of marketing in business and wealth creation.


The evaluation process of the ADVAN African Awards for Marketing Excellence is why it stands as the most respected and sought after award in the industry

Each year ADVAN brings together a team of the most cerebral brains in the industry to carefully select the winners, relying on laid down global best practice judging criteria as the basis for selection

The objective of the evaluation process is in two very significant parts

1, To rewards and celebrate excellence in marketing

2, Ensure growth and development for the industry by providing clear scientific guidelines, which should serve as bench
mark and guide for all marketing activities

It has been noticed that winners of the ADVAN awards are usually leaders in their various industries and categories

A past winner testified that before the start of any marketing campaign, they study the advan awards awards guidelines for that particular activity, which has helped them not only to win awards but to also
excel in brand leadership


This year introduces some very exciting developments for the awards

The Future Leader of Marketing Category now has two parts

One for undergraduates and one for young marketing managers

The Young Managers Awards will see contestants competing by writing the most compelling advertising brief, as precursor to winning the award, this part of the competition will be done in the weeks leading to the awards, it’s objective is to support capacity growth among young client side marketing managers

Also ‘The People’s Brand Award’ which is the only category given out by online voting, (here the consumers vote their favorite brand )

Has been expanded into four parts

People’s Brand Award -Fintech

People’s Brand Award-FMCG

People’s Brand Award-Telecommunications

People’s Brand Award-Financial Institution


This year’s event promises be a truly spectacular outing, with the awards planning, handled by thorough bred professionals, chaired by Mr Yusuf Murtala, Marketkng Director Coca-Cola Nigeria

other committee members include:

Nwando Ajene – 1st Vice President ADVAN

Obum Okoli – National Trade Marketing Manager AbInbev/Executive Council Member ADVAN

Ediri Ose-Ediale
CEO/Executive Director, Advertisers Association of Nigeria

Kenneth Iruonagbe, Digital Brand Manager, Tolaram Group/Executive Council Member ADVAN

Tolu Olanipekun, Head of Marketing, MOUKA Limited/Executive Council Member ADVAN

Akinrimisi Samuel Olabode
Deputy Marketing Director CWAy Food and Beverages Nigeria Ltd

Sandra Amachree Head Marketing Communications Nigeria Breweries Plc

Omolara Banjoko, Marketing Manager, FrieslandCampina WAMCO Nigeria Plc./Executive Council Member ADVAN

Dorcas Mashingil. Senior Brand Manager RTS, Guinness Nigeria Plc.

The 2023 Jury, a crop of the most
experienced and talented professionals, will be led by

(Professor of Marketing & Decision Sciences)  Head, Department of Business Administration, University of Lagos.

While other members of the Jury are:

Dean, School of Media & Communications, Pan-Atlantic University.

Marketing Director Sub Saharan Africa, Pladis Global.

Acting Head, Media, Globacom.

Convener, The Winning Edge.

Head of Digital Marketing(B2C), Olams Grain Nigeria.

President, Association of Digital Marketing Professionals.

Managing Director, CMRG Limited

It suffices to say that ADVAN has converged the most outstanding team of professionals, to deliver the most prestigious, innovative and value driven event of the year